Ubuntu slipping?

I have been using Ubuntu for close onto 2 years now and have converted just about my whole family to Ubuntu in that time. But I am becoming more an more disillutioned with Ubuntu. I think the first dent in in my Ubuntu utopia came from running Kubuntu 9.04 on two laptops. Lets just say after a month I brought both the machines back to stock standard Ubuntu 9.04.

I understand that Ubuntu is free and the software that goes with it is free and thus what you get is what you get. However Ubuntu and its supporters are making claims of solidity so whats up? (I use to be able to make such claims to my family and friends aswell.)

Its the essential applications that should work well that are being neglected in my opinion. For example since version 6 (my first version) the network manger has been erratic to say the least. Its an essential tool, and not that a complicated piece of software either but it still does not work properly. Loosing your network settings every fourth time you get an update from Ubuntu is a serious issue. Think of it this way, if network settings go for a ball I end up running around and resetting six machines in my house alone. Now imagine a company with a hundred machines!

Evolution hanging a couple of times a day and asking for passwords that are saved, a couple of times a day is another majour nightmare. Yes Evolution is not Ubuntu but it is the default mail application so it should be stable. Everybody uses mail and uses it daily. Once again imagine the support calls!

As far as I understand some substantial money is going into Ubuntu so why not get it a bit more rock solid. And by rock solid I don’t mean take us back three versions on all the included software because in the end of the day older versions of software are not necessarily more stable. Rather spend some of that cash/clout and effort into ensiting the communities around those essential applications to raising the bar. Such an effort can only be good for Ubuntu and open source.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

